Our Team

Ian Knapp

Ian created the first Squeebles app in his spare time in 2010 to help his daughter learn her times tables. He hadn’t expected that children all over the world would be helped by it too, but that’s what happened and so he made the leap to focus on creating Squeebles apps full time.

When he’s not puzzling over geeky lines of code and thinking about new ways to help children learn, he can often be found with a flapjack in his hand; tending to his vegetables; playing the guitar; playing in or coaching a football team; or taking his dog, Nell, for a walk.

Ian’s favourite things are cheese, tracking down the world’s best pizza, climbing mountains, football, and playing the guitar. 


Although Florence originally came up with the name 'Squeebles', she didn’t officially start working alongside Ian until a little later in about 2012. Now she works on everything from user experience design to promotion. It's also her voice that you'll hear in any of the pre-recorded KeyStageFun spelling tests.

Florence often appears at meetings with a needle and thread in hand - an obsessive stitcher, in her spare time she's contributed to a book produced by the V&A Museum, as well as writing a book of her own exploring the psychology of working with our hands and sharing traditional quilt-making techniques. These are her favourite things.


Golden Retriever, Nell, is KeyStageFun’s chief paper shredder, lunch-time companion and winter foot-warmer. Nell brings joyful exuberance to work each day and keeps her team well-bonded with her silly antics. 

Nell’s favourite things: bounding around, sleeping, looking expectant at all times, eating things (anything is fine really), thinking about eating things, and commando-crawling through mud.

Nell is 10 years old.

The Squeeble Beasts

From being the original inspiration for creating the very first Squeebles app, our now-adult children are still involved in everything we do today - from discussing ideas to designing graphics.

Our girl's favourite things: graphic design, working in cafes, lifting heavy weights.

Our boy's favourite things: classical art, eating pizza, cooking with halloumi, and music.